NDG WORKING GROUP ON HEALTH

The NDG Working Group on Health is a working group of the NDG Community Council that works with the community of NDG to help ensure that residents have the resources and information necessary to access health-related services and to promote the health and well-being of the neighbourhood.

NDG Working group on health

MISSION AND VISION

The Working Group looks at issues surrounding access to the health system and seeks opportunities for collaboration which lead to improved access for all, with a particular focus on members of isolated communities, including youth, seniors, new arrivals, persons with precarious status, persons in need of mental health services and persons with low-income."

EVENTS & ACTIVITIES & PROJECTS

The NDG Working Group on Health has the goal of improving community knowledge about how to access local health and social services, as well as explore ways to overcome access barriers facing seniors, youth, new arrivals and people needing mental health services. Activities in 2018-19 follow up on issues raised at the Community Health Forum held in October 2017
Highlights 2018-2019

  • Published and distributed the report from the Community Health Forum and provided printed copies to elected officials and CIUSSS leadership.
  • Contacted the Montréal Public Health Department regarding the summer heatwave to encourage campaigns to focus not only on prevention but also on recognition of symptoms of heat stroke and recommended measures.
  • Met with Dr. Bergman Chair of Family Medicine at the McGill University Health Centre and Dr. Ludman, Physician responsible for the Direction régionale de médecine générale, to express concerns over access to family doctors in the neighbourhood and explore strategies for the community to work with doctors in NDG.
  • Explored different avenues to increase community participation in accountability over health and social services at CIUSSS level, and held a series of meetings to better understand CIUSSS intake processes for accessing services with a view to enabling community groups to support people in requesting services; and encouraging the CIUSSS to ensure that intake processes are adapted to people's needs.

MEMBERS

NDG Community Council
NDG Senior Citizens' Council
Logis Action NDG
African-Canadian Development
Prevention Network
Bienvenue à NDG
4 residents

DOCUMENTS & USEFUL LINKS

NDG COMMUNITY HEALTH FORUM-EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

The NDG Community Health Forum took place on October 21st, 2017 at the Crowley Arts Centre in Notre-Dame-de-Grâce. The forum was an initiative of the NDG Working Group on Health, a working group of the NDG Community Council whose goal is to improve community knowledge about how to access local health and social services. This report documents the process of planning the forum, its goals and objectives, the participating organizations as well as the themes that emerged which will inform the work of the NDG Working Group on Health going forward.

 

Close to thirty local agencies from the public, private and non-profit sector participated at the forum through information kiosks, hosting thematic workshops and distributing printed materials to the close to 100 residents and community workers who attended the forum. The event took place in the context of ongoing health care reform in Quebec, beginning with the adoption of Bill 10 by the National Assembly in 2015. The NDG Working Group on Health, while acknowledging the aims of this reform to improve access to front-line services and medical care for all Quebecers, intends this forum as one of the first steps towards an ongoing collaboration between the community and the public sector health network to meet their common objective of guaranteeing access to health care and ensuring that the unique needs of communities are represented throughout that process.

 

The NDG Community Health Forum served to highlight the role played by the community, in particular the local network of non-profit organizations providing social services to residents of NDG, in meeting the health needs of the population. In addition to equipping residents with information and resources to help them to better access the health system, the forum shone a spotlight on the social determinants of health, such as access to affordable housing, healthy food and stable revenue, all of which impact a person's’ well-being. Among the key themes to come out of the forum were how to assist residents of NDG in understanding the access points to their healthcare system following the reform, how we can work with service providers and policy-makers to ensure that their interventions respond to the needs of our diverse population and the importance of expanding these discussions to include physicians as well as other specialists in order to promote a more global vision of health and wellbeing.

 

Moving forward, the Working Group hopes to draw on the exchanges taking place at the forum to take actions that will lead to an improved access to health and social services for all NDG residents, and in particular to those who face barriers to access for any reason. This report is meant to serve as a resource for anybody who wishes to know more about how they can access healthcare in Quebec as well as to share our practices with professionals who are interested in organizing similar initiatives, or in learning about available resources. People interested in knowing more about the group and our initiatives are encouraged to contact Working Group coordinator Graziella B. Challenger graziellabietochallenger@ndg.ca

 

 


SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

STAY CONNECTED

CONTACTS

(514) 484-1471

fax: (514) 484-1687

ndgcc@ndg.ca

GROUPE DE TRAVAIL SUR LA SANTÉ À NDG

Le groupe de travail sur la santé à NDG est un groupe de travail du Conseil Communautaire de NDG qui travaille en concertation avec la communauté pour assurer que les résidents aient toujours les ressources et l'information nécessaires pour accéder aux services de santé et pour promouvoir la santé et bien-être du quartier.

NDG Working group on health

MISSION ET VISION

Le groupe de travail étudie des questions portant sur l'accès au système de santé et cherche des opportunités de collaboration qui mènent à un meilleur accès aux services pour tous, avec un focus sur des membres de plusieurs communautés isolées, incluant les jeunes, les personnes âgées, les nouveaux arrivants, les personnes ayant un statut précaire, les personnes en besoin des services en santé mentale et les personnes ayant un faible revenu"

ÉVÉNEMENTS ET PROJETS

Le Groupe de travail de NDG sur la santé a pour objectif d'améliorer les connaissances de la communauté sur la façon d'accéder aux services sociaux et de santé locaux et d'explorer des façons de surmonter les obstacles auxquels font face les aînés, les jeunes, les nouveaux arrivants et les personnes ayant besoin de services en santé mentale. Les activités réalisées en 2018-2019 donnaient suite aux questions soulevées lors du Forum sur la santé communautaire tenu en octobre 2017.
Faits saillants 2018-2019

  • Publication et distribution du rapport du Forum sur la santé communautaire et remise de copies imprimées aux élus et aux dirigeants du CIUSSS.
  • Rejoindre la Direction de santé publique de Montréal au sujet de la canicule estivale afin d'encourager les campagnes à mettre l'accent non seulement sur la prévention, mais aussi sur la reconnaissance des symptômes du coup de chaleur et les mesures recommandées.
  • Rencontre avec le Dr Bergman, titulaire de la Chaire de médecine familiale du Centre universitaire de santé McGill et le Dr Ludman, médecin responsable de la Direction régionale de médecine générale, afin d'exprimer les préoccupations concernant l'accès aux médecins de famille du quartier et d'explorer des stratégies pour que la communauté travaille en collaboration avec les médecins à NDG.
  • Étude de différentes avenues pour accroître la participation communautaire à la reddition de comptes en matière de santé et de services sociaux au niveau du CIUSSS et tenue d’une série de rencontres pour mieux comprendre les processus d'admission du CIUSSS en vue de permettre aux groupes communautaires d'appuyer les personnes qui demandent des services ; et encourager le CIUSSS à s'assurer que les processus d'admission sont adaptés aux besoins des personnes

MEMBRES

NDG Community Council
NDG Senior Citizens' Council
Logis Action NDG
African-Canadian Development
Prevention Network
Bienvenue à NDG
4 residents

DOCUMENTS ET LIENS UTILES

FORUM COMMUNAUTAIRE SUR LA SANTÉ DE NDG-SOMMAIRE EXÉCUTIF

Le forum communautaire sur la santé de NDG a eu lieu le samedi 21 octobre 2017, au Centre des arts Crowley dans Notre-Dame-de-Grâce. Le forum était une initiative du Groupe de travail sur la santé de NDG, un groupe de travail du conseil communautaire de NDG dont l’objectif est d’améliorer les connaissances de la communauté sur l’accès aux services de santé et aux services sociaux locaux. Ce rapport documente le processus de planification du forum, ses buts et objectifs, les organisations participantes ainsi que les thèmes qui ont émergé et qui guideront le travail du Groupe de travail de NDG sur la santé à l'avenir.

Presqu’une trentaine d’organismes locaux issus des secteurs publiques, privées et communautaires ont participé au forum à travers des kiosques, en accueillant des ateliers thématiques et en distribuant des dépliants à près de 100 résidents et travailleurs communautaires qui ont assisté au forum. L’événement était réalisé dans un contexte de la réforme du système de santé au Québec, qui avait comme point de départ l’adoption du Loi 10 par l’Assemblée Nationale en 2015 et qui continue jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Le groupe de travail sur la santé de NDG, en reconnaissant les objectifs de cette réforme à améliorer l’accès aux soins médicaux et services de première ligne pour tous les québécois et québécoises, entend ce forum comme une des premières étapes vers un partenariat en continu entre la communauté et la réseau public de santé pour répondre à leur objectif commun de garantir l’accès aux services tout en rassurant que les besoins uniques des communautés soient bien représentés dans ce processus.

Le forum communautaire sur la santé de NDG a servi à souligner le rôle joué par la communauté, notamment le réseau local des organismes à but non-lucratif fournissant des services sociaux aux résidents de NDG, en répondant aux besoins en santé de la population. En plus d'équiper des résidents avec de l’information et des ressources nécessaires pour qu’ils puissent mieux accéder au système de santé, le forum était axé sur les déterminants sociaux de santé, tel que l’accès à un logement abordable, des sains aliments et un stable revenu, dont tous ont un impact important sur la bien-être d’une personne. Les thèmes clés du forum était d'aider les résidents de NDG à comprendre les points d'accès à leur système de santé à la suite de la réforme, comment collaborer avec les fournisseurs de service et les responsables politiques pour rassurer que leurs interventions répondent aux besoins de notre population diversifiée et l’importance d’élargir la discussion aux médecins ainsi que d’autres spécialistes afin de cultiver une vision plus globale de la santé et le bien-être.  

Dans l’avenir, le groupe du travail souhaite s'appuyer sur les échanges du forum  vers des actions concrètes pour améliorer l’accès aux services de santé et services sociaux pour tous les résidents de NDG, et surtout pour ceux qui font face à des barrières systémiques à l’accès. Ce rapport est destiné à servir d’une ressource pour des personnes souhaitant mieux comprendre comment accéder les soins de santé au Québec, ainsi de partager nos pratiques avec des professionnels qui pourrait organiser des initiatives similaires, ou qui veulent se renseigner sur les services disponibles. Les personnes intéressées à savoir plus sur cette initiative sont encouragées de communiquer avec Graziella B. Challenger, coordonnatrice du groupe de travail à  graziellabietochallenger@ndg.ca.

 


ABONNEZ-VOUS À NOTRE NEWSLETTER

RESTER CONNECTÉ

CONTACTS

(514) 484-1471

fax: (514) 484-1687

ndgcc@ndg.ca

Main Menu